Scenes from the Neighborhood

There has been a call for pictures of my life. Sure, sure, I give those to you all the time, but what of my neighborhood?

Weekends I often find myself on a wander. There aren’t really many places to go in Yilan. I’ve tried to find a tea house to no avail. There are no benches or tables in the sports park and really no other places to go than that. So I sometimes just wander round and back again.

I decided to take a ‘picture walk’ for you, to show you some of the sights I see around my apartment.

Shall we begin?

This is the first and last sight I see every day: my staircase.

Here we go.

Our apartment comprises the third and forth floors and you need to go into this stairwell to get between them. The tiles are easily dirty and we even have a job designation to sweep them periodically (the landlord gets annoyed when they’re dusty). When I go up and downstairs, my slippers slap slap slap on the steps.

The door to downstairs

If you go into the room downstairs, you’ll find a living room, and our kitchen. My room mate Rebekah also lives in a room off the kitchen and there is a bathroom downstairs as well. Upstairs you’ll find another common room (dark, without windows, which explains no photos), and Danielle, Michael, and My rooms, as well as a bathroom.

Looking outside. And saying hi!

scary alleyway.

When you go outside, you look around and you see this alleyway full of…well we’re not sure. I walk on that little strip of cement on my way to the door from the bus after work every day. If I’m carrying a bunch of bags, I take the other way round, although it takes longer.

Scooter parking only

Here is the view from the other way, and then the space where everyone parks their scooters and bikes (I have neither-just my legs!)

The view of our apartment. Like I said, we have floors 3 and 4

Roses.

garlic drying.

If you walk out the second way I mention, you see the trash bridge. I don’t know what this man does with all the stuff he accumulates, but….there it rests all the same. 

The other side of the bridge holds this. This is around where I wait for the garbage truck to come.

bridge corner.

a strange button in the street.

Here’s the little ledge by the river.

I sometimes wash the compost bucket here after I empty it, quick as a flash, into the back of the garbage truck. I sure won’t miss this system, but it does test your reflexes! There is a woman who washes her clothes in this river every morning, but I can’t imagine that’s very sanitary…

a typical house

gardens.

typical me.

People dry their laundry every which where.

I think they have chickens?

Here’s the bus stop where I wait for the bus every.single.morning. And English Village in the background.

See? People do dry their stuff everywhere.

Here’s the street going towards Family Mart. The bus takes this route in the morning. 

Dapo Lu, our road.

The way into the alleyway entrance of our house.

Another sign for our road.

Finally, you get to family mart.

F.M. I can hear the song now.

blending modern with traditional.

This is just so wonderfully dilapidated.

This is the food stand that sells fried things that smell exactly like the county fair. I will go out of my way just to walk by because it smells so darn good!

transportation: from legs to busses and everywhere in between.

People here will use any mode of transportation to get around. What you see here is a man and his caregiver both riding on his mobility wheelchair.

dragon boats are beginning! two weeks hence!

Dragonboat festival is in two weeks. This next picture is interesting. Do you see the guy in the water practicing paddling? 

If you continue, you’ll cross the river. I walk across this bridge all the time, which is only slightly scary.

cars, scooters, and bikes.

Cosmos!

This crosswalk.

When you get to the other side of the bridge, you see this crossing. It is the biggest pain to cross. Traffic never seems to stop, and there are six ways to drive your car.

I’ll be back tomorrow with scenes from town!

Love, Hannah

4 thoughts on “Scenes from the Neighborhood

  1. Thank you SO much for the tour! Now I can have you in my mind’s eye, with the proper backdrops! I believe your grandfather would be proud of your proper use of the word comprise but honestly I am not sure myself. (-;) I wonder if that “coin” might mark utility lines under the street. Can you make out any of the characters?

  2. Pingback: A Case of Wanderlust « Fulbright Association

Leave a Reply

