More London

I’m sorry, I’m really just out of creative titles. Everything less plain seems too contrived and hokey. Apologies.

I walked to the Tate Britain next, the Tate Modern’s throughly historic sister on the opposite bank way up. It’s the most out of the way, I’d say, but houses some art that I really quite like.

Parliament is still a very impressive structure.

Sepia looks nice in the sun. 

Later that week, I went to South Kensington to the Victoria & Albert, then the Science Museum. I was going to do the Natural History Museum as well, but honestly I was too tired and too done with crowds.

If you’ve been to the V&A and all but ignored the 5th floor, you don’t know what you’re missing. Arguably my favorite bit in the entire museum- lots of old things and pottery and ceramics which are beautiful from all over the world. I kind of skipped over the asian pottery- you understand- I’ve seen quite a lot of that- and focused on the european and middle eastern artifacts. Actually, it was interesting how much of an overlap there was sometimes, especially between middle eastern and asian. I suppose they are really quite close to each other indeed. 

wickedly sprightly

little cabbage!

My maternal grandmother collects little snuff bottles so I always search them out. The National Palace Museum here has a great collection too!

Delft tiles for Mom!

beautiful

Imagine eating your meal to reveal one of these fantastic scenes? Someday maybe they’ll invent a plate that has a changing scene every time you use it!

Guess who?

true beauty has always been appreciated in true art.

Bookcases I’d like to have.

Then, of course, I commenced to take lots of mirror selfies. I mean, what does one do when one is museuming alone?

Clearly I’m nuts.

his beard is his stand! I love this every time I see it.

Then I took some pictures I’ve taken before, just because they continue to make me laugh.

WHAT HAHAHAHA

Giant beds I’d like to have.

So obviously amused.

An origami dress I took a picture of for my sister- she loves Origami!

The science museum was a bit crowded and loud for me. I knew there was a reason why I love art museums. But I did see an iron lung which made it all worth it. and some awesome ranges

And that’s it! I didn’t take as many photos because it was raining for many of the days and I didn’t want to ruin my camera. Once I move to London, you’ll all be able to see pictures as often as you like!

Love, Hannah

3 thoughts on “More London

  1. Love London and love your pics. Didn’t know you were moving. My son John is over in England this week – down in Brighton where we used to live. Some day check out the doll house at Windsor. Look forward to hearing more.

  2. Wow, Hannah! Thanks for the museum tour – you were not alone, since we were all with you!! I love the snuff bottle collection too, not sure where those are now… I also loved the origami dress and the iron lung. Very cool! Thanks so much and we look forward to seeing you whenever that might be! You are always with us in spirit at family gatherings, but it isn’t the same as you in person. Love and hugs…

Leave a Reply

