Dapo Does it Right-cooking, garbage and Bricks (Picture Heavy!)

Our address is on Dapo Lu (road) and it’s a long one. I won’t post it here on the internet, but let me just say that it’s got lots of…parts to it.

I’ve really lucked out with flat mates and not having to move. Sure, I have to take a 40 minute bus ride every morning, but it’s worth it to be able to stay here. One of the LETs, Nancy, likes to help us out. She came over one sunday and helped Rebekah and I cook dinner with some of the skinny eggplants the Dengs gave me.

Nancy and Rebekah zuo fan.

skinny eggplant CHOP

Not sure what it was, but it involved eggplant, garlic, olive oil, and a bit too much salt and sugar for my liking.

garlic a choppin’

She’d have added ketchup too she said, and I’m not sure where she was going with that, but the end product was fine without it.

adding some sugar

flower onions Yilan is famous for, from the garden of the Deng’s friend.

Me and Nancy

It’s so nice to have a local friend who knows the ins and outs of everything.

One thing we’ve had to figure out on our own is the trash. Taiwan is particular about the separation and when you hear that music, you’d better go running, because you have to throw your bags on the truck as it goes by.

‘trash bridge’ as Michael calls it, by our house.

I’ve mentioned the river that runs across from our house. We don’t throw our garbage into it like SOME neighbors I’ve observed doing that, but it does get cloudy when it rains.

river run!

Sometimes you have to wait for the truck to arrive. It’s deceiving when you hear it, then it dips down another road.

Rebekah and Michael wait for the truck.

It makes me thankful for the bins we have in the states; a good 10 minutes could be wasted waiting for the darn truck to come.

waiting and waiting.

But while you wait, you can see pictures of my neighborhood!

A look up one of the side streets.

Out the front into Dapo Road. Our little alleyway.

As I mentioned, it’s really nice to have LET Nancy as a friend. I’ve been riding around on the back of her scooter a lot, which isn’t as scary as I’d feared (except the first time!) She took Rebekah, Michael, and I to the Brick Kiln after our supper.

Historic Brick Kiln in our neighborhood

I had no idea what it was, but it turned out to be interesting, if not completely reminiscent of a type of place I wouldn’t want it to remind me of. I’ll just add some pictures now. 

Did I mentioned I’m gorgeous?

New shirt. How fab.

Nancy gave me a few of her old shirts.

Moving on. I’m sorry, I just have a lot to tell you before my life begins to be something different and more school oriented.

We made dinner together as a flat.

delicious spread.

and while everyone else took outrageous photos of their typhoonness (remember?) we countered it after having begun it with this:

We began the mayhem

If you follow me on Facebook, you’ll know about the Hello Kitty video…I’ll try to get it on here, it’s really worth seeing. So much so, in fact, that a group from Kaosiung copied it.

That’s all I have, Love, Hannah

2 thoughts on “Dapo Does it Right-cooking, garbage and Bricks (Picture Heavy!)

  1. Yes, I get it about the brick kiln photos but I would like to know about these particular ones and whether they are still in service making, I assume, bricks. Very lovely photos, btw.

    • They aren’t. I really don’t now, because none of the information was in English. it stopped lately, because there was no reason for it. I know those photos are your favourite 🙂

Leave a Reply

