That Post About Teaching

The way I’ve been posting, you’d think I’ve been on vacation or something, but I swear to you that the past three weeks have been spent mostly in the basement classroom at the Yilan City Teacher’s Centre.

I won’t bother to put  everything into one post at this point, because you’d find yourself with drooping eyelids halfway through, but suffice it to say that I’m really going to enjoy graduate school.

Topics we’ve explored include (let me know if you want more information on any of these, I have detailed notes)

-Living in Yilan (introductions to life here)
-Visiting Schools and School Presentations (for our preference forms)
– Overview of the Fulbright Programme (including details on how you can get sent home!)
-Intro to the Taiwan Education System
-Culture Shock (what do you do when someone asks you if you’re single or how much money you make?)
-Mini practice teaching TESOL/TESOL Overview (this one I found to be a bit lacking in technical practice/theory)
-Intercultural Communication (How to connect with your LET and other local people and students)
-Basics of Teaching English (Fun games with the most amazing presenter, Thomas Santos!)
-Textbook Overviews and sample lesson planning with LETs
-Reading Activities (how to bring books into your classroom)
-Ipad in teaching English (cool, but only if you have an ipad yourself….)
-Vocabulary and Grammar (I love this topic)
-Phonics (I love this one too)
-Songs and Chants (I didn’t like this presenter, but I really like the idea of using these in the classroom)
-Child Psychology- this didn’t actually happen. We played more games.
-Classroom management (useful!)
-Sizzling storytelling (how to captivate an audience. I thought this presenter was rude, but his lecture was useful)
-Teaching Demo

I will probably make an effort to explain things more in depth once we’ve begun the school year, although I will be more pressed for time, I’m sure. Our school days will run from 7:40/8am to 4pm probably, and if I’m going to take the bus to school instead of buying an expensive scooter, I’ll be hopping on the bus at 6:50am! Luckily I’m an early riser, right?

Tomorrow I’m going to try taking the bus for the first time. I have my first parent-teacher meeting! There is a little first grader who’s parents think they may homeschool her. Ellen, my LET tells me that she would like us to be together in the meeting, since it is ‘our’ class. I wholeheartedly agree. It’s sweet and really fun to think about having ‘kids’ of my own. She brought in a letter today, a welcome to our class letter, and it’s going to be from ‘we’ about which I am excited.

I can’t wait to update you all on how everything goes tomorrow. I think we are going to outline what we’re going to do over the school year and try to persuade the girl’s parents that she will get a better English education if she attends our class. Apparently they can pick and choose what she will and will not be attending. She’s only in first grade, I wouldn’t press the envelope too much, if I were her parents. It will be interesting to see their motive for homeschooling in the first place. Maybe I can private tutor her?

Sorry there are no pictures. I actually haven’t been snapping pictures of lessons and such. I’ll be back with more posts and such soon. I need to begin doing some more thinking and some less recounting.

Let me know what you want to hear about in the comments- I’d be happy to do a little digging into details or take photos or whatever. Give me an assignment! 

Love you all and you have no idea how much it warms my heart to know that you are following my blog,

Hannah

2 thoughts on “That Post About Teaching

  1. Yes, of course post details about each one of those topics, please!!! Also your own homeschooling years may give you some interesting insight into their thoughts for their first grader and what they hope to avoid or achieve by schooling her at home instead of in your school. Nice that they allow familes to a la carte their public education though. That would be nice!.

Leave a Reply

